Review: “Another Man’s Treasure” by Lisa Henry and J.A. Rock

  • Title: Another Man’s Treasure
  • Authors: Lisa Henry and J.A. Rock
  • Publisher: Self-Published
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Rating: ✰ ✰ ✰ ✰ ✰ (ALL THE STARS!)

Jesus Christ on a cracker.

This. Book.

It’s been several days – about four? I don’t know – since I finished “Another Man’s Treasure” and I am still totally floored by the writing, the plot, the characters, everything. I don’t know if I’ll ever recover from it. My family will end up suing the authors for my rehab bills.

This book is that good.

“Another Man’s Treasure” is about Ilia, a young man who is the lover of Mikhail, a Chechen crime boss. When Mikhail is killed by Ilia’s father in a police raid, Mikhail’s younger brother, Nick, comes to pick up everything that belonged to his older brother – including Ilia. He takes Ilia captive in his own apartment and begins to groom him for his own uses. Ilia doesn’t fight for a long time, until Nick takes another captive, a shy young man named Patrick. Together, Ilia and Patrick have to resist Nick’s attempts to break them, and keep each other whole even in their captivity.

I’ve read a lot of books by Lisa Henry, and have looked into J.A. Rock’s books, but nothing prepared me for this to be so fucking brutal. The warnings on this book are very serious – there is super graphic rape in this novel, of both Ilia and Patrick, and other kinds of violence. It’s not for the faint of heart by any stretch and it doesn’t gloss over the terror and horror Ilia and Patrick go through.

It’s so brutal.

And I love it.

I love that Lisa Henry and J.A. Rock don’t pretend that what happens to them is okay. Ilia and Patrick go through trauma and it is shown as traumatic; it’s not arousing to read. I mean, it’s classified as erotica just because of the amount of sex in it, but it’s like a rape fiction where the rape isn’t glamorized. I appreciate that.

I also loved the whole angle of the Chechen mob, and the flash backs now and then to shed light on Ilia’s relationship with Mikhail. Since Ilia spends the entire novel hung up on Mikhail and grieving for him, it’s important to see what kind of relationship they had, and in the ~20 pages he was in the novel, there wasn’t enough of a glimpse of their relationship to really judge. The flashbacks give more character to what Ilia is mourning. I loved that.

Do I even have to talk about the writing? Lisa Henry is a phenomenal writer. This is the first time I read something by J.A. Rock, but apparently she’s amazing too! The writing was just gorgeous. Heartbreaking and so so sad, but gorgeous.

I didn’t have much of a handle on the setting, but I didn’t have to to have a good experience.

And don’t even get me started on the characters. While I despised Nick and his cronies and didn’t like Mikhail (thought he was creepy, I don’t know), I absolutely fell in love with Patrick and Ilia. It tore me apart to watch them be tortured. It really did. I can’t remember the last time I felt so much for characters.

Overall? An amazing success.

5/5 stars all the way.

Leave a Reply

